Sports and Outdoors

 Lake Info

Normal Lake Level is 322.00 feet above Mean Sea Level.
Current level for Cedar Creek Lake is: 321.99 Water Temperature:
57  degrees - top
degrees - bottom




MHS boys make 1st playoffs
Monitor Staff Reports
MABANK–In their first-ever playoff appearance, the Mabank High School Panther boys soccer team fell to the visiting Kilgore Bulldogs, 5-1, Friday. MHSboysSoccer.jpg (234555 bytes)
Not only did the Panthers finally make the playoffs in their seventh year of existence, the 20-member team has just four seniors – Ryan Floyd, Jamison Gryder, Tyler Lynn and Brandon Stringer.
“They were very excited about the opportunity to play in the playoffs as the first team ever to make it,” head coach Weldon Killingsworth said. “It was a great experience for the team and the school to host a playoff game at our stadium.”
Kilgore was the first-place team in their district and very talented, Killingsworth said.
“The boys played very hard and never quit during the game,” he pointed out.
It was a rough-and-tumble match, particularly in the first half, as Mabank spectators loudly complained about no-calls by the referee (who did call a couple of players together for a quick finger-shaking conference after one collision near the Panther goal).
Ricardo Robles, one of 13 juniors on the team, scored the Panthers’ only goal in the second half.
“The boys now know what it takes to get to the playoffs, so next year, we expect to continue our success,” Killingsworth said.

’Jackets named All-District
Monitor Staff Reports
CEDAR CREEK LAKE–The loop playoff teams dominated the 14-3A boys basketball all-district selections, with district champion Van taking both the MVP and Offensive Player of the Year honors.
Kemp’s Yellowjackets, who handed the Vandals their only district loss and notched their first playoff appearance since 2007, had two players named to the first team by loop coaches.
Senior guard Wesley Kerr, a three-year starter, and junior forward Ryan Emfinger were both first-team picks.
Vandal senior Jordan Schmid and sophomore Zach Ghormley were named the district’s MVP and Offensive Player of the Year, respectively.
Wills Point senior Steven Cunigan was named the Defensive Player of the Year, and district coaches named Wills Point freshman Darryn York and Canton sophomore Eric Walters as the co-Newcomers of the Year.
Joining Kerr and Emfinger on the five-man first team were Wills Point senior Junior Hamilton, Canton junior Roy Denbow and Van senior Forrest McFarlin.
Eustace senior Guy Hargrove led off the five-man second team, joined by Kemp senior Zach Allison, Van senior Travis Hand, Wills Point junior Trent Jurica and Mineola senior Trey Stubblefield.
Eustace had four players given honorable mention – senior Trevan Johnson, juniors Braden Strickland and Addison Scott, and sophomore Jacob McCarter.
Kemp senior Jeremy Quick and junior guard Jeff Goldman were also given honorable mention.


Upcoming games


March 25
EHS @ Brownsboro
KHS @ Brownsboro


March 26-27
MHS @ Cedar Hill


March 26
MHS @ Lancaster*

March 30
MHS vs West Mesquite*
KHS vs Mineola*
EHS @ Wills Point*

(*District contest)


March 26
MHS vs Forney*

March 30
MHS @ Lancaster*
KHS vs Mineola*
EHS @ Wills Point*

(*District contest)

Copyright 2010, MediaOne, L.L.C.