Thursday, May 1, 2008





Crash ends early-morning pursuit
Monitor Staff Reports
MABANK–A beer theft led to an early-morning pursuit through Mabank’s residential streets Saturday, ending when the suspect’s vehicle hit a tree.
The incident began around 2:30 a.m. Saturday, when the suspect attempted to purchase a 30-pack of beer at the Shell convenience store at the U.S. Highway 175/State Highway 198 interchange.
As state law bans the sale of alcohol after midnight, the store clerk refused to sell the beer, whereupon the suspect grabbed his money back, as well as the 30-pack, and exited the store, Mabank Police Chief Kyle McAfee reported.
Responding to the clerk’s call, police officer Keith Bradshaw located the suspect’s vehicle eastbound on E. Mason Street (Business 175), and attempted to initiate a traffic stop, but the suspect refused to pull over, McAfee said.
Bradshaw pursued the suspect vehicle along a number of residential streets in the eastern portion of the city until the suspect lost control of his vehicle and struck a tree in the 700 block of East Market, McAfee reported.
The suspect, identified as Mabank resident Tommy Barnes, 25, was seriously injured in the accident, and was transported to Parkland Hospital in Dallas by helicopter.
McAfee said Barnes faces a number of charges, including fleeing from an officer, driving with a suspended license and theft, when he is released from the hospital.

Teachers of the Year named
By Barbara Gartman
Monitor Staff Writer

MABANK– It was another first for the new Mabank High School, as more than 500 teachers, staff, friends and their families attended the annual Employee Awards Banquet.
Thursday, the huge crowd gathered in the commons area for a meal of Italian food, including various types of pizza and luscious desserts.
Gary Sapp, Mabank Independent School Board president, welcomed the group and introduced the trustees in attendance
Superintendent Dr. Russell Marshall welcomed those in attendance and then turned to Opal Toney, Mabank graduate and The Monitor column writer.
“Miss Opal, how big was your graduating class?” he asked.
“About 20,” she softly replied.
“Did you ever think a MHS cafeteria would be this full?”
Toney just shook her head.
Marshall then proceeded with the presentation of the awards, beginning with recognition of the selection committees.
Para of the Year committee members were Bruce Easley, Joann Hanstrom and Merritt Harpole.
Teacher of the Year committee members were Karen Jentzen, Leland Pitts and Lew Talbot.
The campus teachers of the year were introduced by their principals.
Campus teachers of the year were High School Mary Dunn, Middle School Laurie Springer, Central Elementary Mary Ann Gregg, Lakeview Elementary Melissa Sullivan and Southside Elementary Carole Jordan.
Dunn was also named District Teacher of the Year.
Campus Para of the Year were High School Shannon Kemp, Middle School Debbie Hammack, Central Elementary Kimberly Hicks, Lakeview Elementary Tracy Shaw, Southside Elementary Linda Cross and administration Karen Grisham.
Employee of the Year for food service was Yolanda Hodges, maintenance Gene Askew and transportation Alice Woods.
Employees retiring were Middle School Brenda Lindsey, Sue Powell and Sharon Shaw, and from Lakeview Elementary Jeanne Shelton.
Service pins awarded were:
• 35 years to Kathie Hyde, not present.
• 30 years, Barbara Bevill.
• 25 years, Sherrie Beck, Linda Engel, Rhonda Manning and Cynthia Saenz.
• 20 years, Brenda Jones, Nancy McDonald, Debra Morgan, Adreanne Rogers and Daniel Smith.
• 15 years, Leah Barton, Debbie Lynn, Rhonda Marrinan, Hunter Fisher, Karylene McWhorter, Debbie Hammock, Pamela Hyde, Marsha Morse, Patti Jordan, Nancy Smith, Catherine Lindsey and Vickie Wells.
• 10 years, Karen Bowers, Sandy Chasteen, Lezlee Cheek, Tricia Corder, Edna Duncan, Kimberley Ferrell, Juanita Franklin, Karen Godby, Georgeanne Harding, Theresa Henderson, JK Hyde, Glenda Jump, Annette McKee, Tina Monus, Martha Phillips, Suzie Shankle, Sue Shelton, Judy Spivey and Meredith Williams.
• five years, Julie Boothe, Joann Burnett, Jimmy Cantrell, Johnny Chisolm, Rex Criggar, Cynthia Doze, Connie Gibbs, James Good, Debra Gordon, Debbie Hammack, Danielle Hartsell, Sandra Harvey, Diana Kostiuk, Maria Ledezma, Russell Marshall, Terrie Parmeter, Christian Reed, Bob Schoonover, Rebecca Smith, Melissa Sullivan, Paul Swerline, Matthew Teague, Zan Tidmore and Thomas Wallis.

Photo by Charles Stiff
Mabank named Teachers of the Year including
high school teacher Mary Dunn (left), middle school
teacher Laurie Springer, Central Elementary’s
Mary Ann Gregg, Southside’s Carole Jordan and
Lakeview’s Melissa Sullivan.

Mid-Cities Storage burns in
Tuesday morning blaze

Monitor Photo/Janice Grubbs
Area firefighters converged on the 2100 block of S. Third Street (SH 198) in
Mabank 7 a.m. Tuesday to fight a blaze that destroyed a building housing the
office and several units of Mid-Cities Storage, mostly due to water and smoke
damage. The suspect arsonist was transferred by ambulance to Presbyterian
Hospital of Kaufman and then flown to Parkland Hospital in Dallas for treatment
of his injuries, Mabank Fire Marshal John Holcomb told The Monitor. Fighting
the fire snarled traffic during peak school drop-off times and continued with
only one southbound lane until lunchtime. More will be reported as official
information becomes available.


Copyright © 2008, MediaOne, L.L.C.