Sports and Outdoors


 Lake Info

Normal Lake Level is 322.00 feet above Mean Sea Level.
Current level for Cedar Creek Lake is: 322.01
Water Temperature:
na degrees - top
77 degrees - bottom





Starks wins bull riding at rain-soaked Mabank Rodeo
Monitor Staff Reports
MABANK–Patience paid off for Kerens resident Bandy Starks in the bull-riding competition at the rain-soaked 52nd annual Mabank Rodeo Saturday.
A severe thunderstorm ended Friday night’s rodeo performance after just two events – calf roping and breakaway roping – and competition resumed with barrel racing Saturday morning.
As the morning competition wound up with bull-riding, Starks’ bull proved to be very uncooperative, lying down in the stall twice as Starks attempted to secure his riding position.

Monitor Photo/Kerry Yancey
Kerens rider Bandy Starks completes an 8-second ride to get a 73 score Saturday, winning the bull-riding competition at the 52nd annual Mabank Rodeo.

After about 20 minutes of effort, Starks gave handlers the nod, and rode the bull the full eight seconds, garnering a 73 score. That turned out to be the only score of the morning and the bull-riding competition.
There were no bareback bronc riders in Friday’s performance, and Josh Hudson grabbed first place Saturday by posting the only score, a 71.
Similarly, the only one to post a score in the saddle bronc competition Saturday was John Kirby, with 70 points.
Justin Maass won the calf roping competition by posting a 9.65-second time.
Jim Bob Mays was second with a 10.22-second clocking, followed by Clayton Hamil (10.40) and Scott Kormos (10.65).
Tana Whatley won the breakaway roping competition with a stellar 3.12-second effort, easily ahead of Crickett Calcote’s second-place 4.38 clocking.
Kasi Bacon was a distant third, clocking 12.34 seconds.
Only a tenth of a second separated the top two steer wrestlers, as Cooper Shofner recorded a 5.7-second effort, while Trey Green clocked 5.8 seconds.
The duo of Jake Kropik and Wade Clayton won the team roping competition with a 5.53-second clocking, edging out Jeff Denham and Clay Whisenhunt, who clocked 5.69 seconds.
The difference between first and second place was just 0.184 seconds in the barrel racing competition.
Karen Morris clocked 16.674 seconds to edge out Cara Mizell, who clocked 16.858 seconds.
Tammy Key-Fischer took third with a 17.040-second clocking, while Kemp’s Paula McDougald took fourth at 17.888 seconds.

Upcoming Games