Sports and Outdoors


 Lake Info

Normal Lake Level is 322.00 feet above Mean Sea Level.
Current level for Cedar Creek Lake is: 320.91
Water Temperature:
na degrees - top
64 degrees - bottom



  Panthers open with win over Malakoff, 65-47
Monitor Staff Reports
MABANK–Mabank’s Panthers used a strong fourth-quarter run to pull away from the visiting Malakoff Tigers for a 65-47 victory Monday.
The Panthers hosted the T.K. Gorman Crusaders Tuesday, following a cancellation by the Canton Eagles, who (like the Panthers) have team members still playing football
Tuesday, Nov. 27, the Panthers are scheduled to host the Van Vandals for a non-district basketball contest, with a 4:30 p.m. freshman game opening the evening’s slate.
Next weekend, Nov. 29-Dec. 1, the Panthers will host the ninth annual Cedar Creek Shoot-out.
Mabank’s season-opening opponent was supposed to be the Athens Hornets, who cancelled because they were still in the football playoffs.
Malakoff came in and worked hard to match the Panthers’ quickness, but were unable to find the range in the new Mabank High School gym.
Behind Albin Gashi (five points, including a 3-point basket) and nine points from Caleb McKee, the Panthers opened a 22-14 lead in the first quarter, and still led by seven at halftime.
The Panthers maintained their lead in the third quarter, then put the contest away by outscoring the Tigers 21-12 in the fourth period, led by Griffin Marshall, who scored all seven of his points in the period.
Gashi led the Panthers with 15 points, while Tyler Fisher added 12 and McKee finished with 11 points.
In addition to Marshall’s seven points, the Panthers got seven points from Jacob Woodard, four points from Tray Phillips and two points each from Cameron Tucker and Chris Tull.
Damien Givens led the Tigers with 17 points, while Cory Dawson added 12 points.
Vanoid Dawson had nine points.
The Tigers also got four points from Cornelius Richardson, three points from Bernard Hall and two points from Bubba Heath.

Comets win Hurst tourney
U19 girls team finishes season unbeaten
Monitor Staff Reports
MABANK–The U19 Comets girls soccer team, coached by Bruce Tower and Donna Ward, ended their season undefeated, winning Mesquite’s Division I soccer league.
The Comets will play in the state playoffs Saturday and Sunday, Dec. 1-2.
In a warm-up for the playoffs, the Comets won the Hurst soccer tournament last weekend, defeating Plano (3-0), Bedford Euless (2-0) and Greater Lewisville (3-0).
The Comets knocked off Euless Bedford 3-1 Sunday to win the tournament championship for the second consecutive year.
Tower, who is retiring from coaching soccer after 28 years, said “I am so proud of these girls. What a wonderful way to end my coaching career.
“I never expected an undefeated season in Division I, and a repeat championship in Hurst,” Tower added. “I am looking forward to our play at the state championships.”
During the tournament, the Comets got goals from Nikki McWhorter (team captain and leading scorer), Hilary Noble, Jessica Skirko, Rachel Goth and Brittany Dyer.
The Comet defense, led by captain Jessica Ridgle and goalie Adrienne “Red” Rhodes, allowed just one goal in the tournament, that coming in the championship game.

Brewer wins Contest No. 11
Monitor Staff Reports
With his prediction in the “tie-breaker” game, Reggie Brewer of Mabank is the winner of Pigskin Playoff No. 11 in The Monitor.
Brewer, along with Evelyn Fleming of Kemp and Jacob Junell of Kemp, all finished with 78 percent winning picks, forcing their “tie-breaker” game picks to determine the winner.
Brewer predicted the Ohio State Buckeyes would defeat the Michigan Wolverines by six points, while Fleming chose Ohio State to win by 21 and Junell picked Michigan by three points.
Ohio State defeated Michigan by 11 points, 14-3, in their annual grudge match Nov. 17.
Brewer will receive $50 worth of coupons from The Monitor to be exchanged for merchandise from participating merchants listed on the contest page.
The coupons may be picked up at The Monitor office, located at 1316 S. Third Street (Groom & Sons’ Plaza) in Mabank.
Taking third place in Pigskin Payoff No. 11 were T.J. Baxley of Gun Barrel City, Randall Callison of Mabank, Billy R. Dyer of Canton, Bobbie Rogers of Malakoff and Angie Dennis of Kemp.
Fourth place went to Matt Dennis, Bob Dennis, Andy Fleming and Scott Yarbrough, all of Kemp.
Other top finishers included Edgar Yarbrough of Kemp, Gener Baxley of Gun Barrel City, Billy W. Dyer of Mabank, Nick Anderson of Gun Barrel City, Nancy DuBose of Mabank and Robert Dennis of Kemp.
The winner of Pigskin Playoff No. 12, the final Pigskin Payoff of the season, will be announced in the Sunday, Dec. 2, issue of The Monitor.


Upcoming games

Girls basketball

Nov. 27
KHS vs Grand Saline
EHS @ Malakoff

Nov. 29-Dec. 1
MHS @ Wills Point tourn.
KHS @ Edgewood tourn.
EHS Roundball Roundup

Dec. 4
MHS @ Royse City
KHS @ Quitman
EHS vs LaPoynor

Dec. 7
MHS @ Cross Roads
KHS @ Fairfield tourn.
EHS @ ET Shoot-Out
Boys basketball

Nov. 27
MHS vs Van
KHS vs Fairfield
EHS vs Malakoff

Nov. 29-Dec. 1
MHS hosts CC Shoot-out
KHS @ Quinlan Ford tourn.
EHS @ Edgewood tourn.

Dec. 4
MHS @ Rains
KHS vs Scurry-Rosser
EHS vs LaPoynor

Dec. 7
MHS vs Scurry-Rosser
KHS @ Fairfield tourn.
EHS @ ET Shoot-Out