Sports and Outdoors


KHS, EHS players make all-district squad
Monitor Staff Reports
CEDAR CREEK LAKEĖTen Kemp and Eustace players were named to the District 12-3A first team All-District baseball squad by loop coaches recently.
Eustace missed the playoffs, as Kaufman edged them for the third-place berth. Kemp nabbed the second-place berth, while Crandall ground through District 12-3A play unbeaten.
Kennedale knocked out Kaufman in the first round, while Kemp edged past Mount Vernon in bidistrict action.
In best-of-three series for the area championship, Kennedale knocked out Crandall in two games last weekend, while Kemp pushed Van Alstyne to a third game before bowing out of the playoffs May 13.
In the regional quarterfinals this week, Kennedale was scheduled to face Texarkana Liberty-Eyleau in Tyler Friday and Saturday, while Van Alstyne was to face Lindale at Sulphur Springs Wednesday and Saturday, with each matchup a best-of-three series.
Crandallís Austin Good was named the District 12-3A Most Valuable Player.
Kempís Matt Carr and Josh Carr were both named to superlatives by district coaches, as sophomore shortstop Matt was named the Offensive Player of the Year, and freshman first baseman Josh was named the Newcomer of the Year.
Wills Pointís Justin Hall was named the Defensive Player of the Year, while Crandallís Zack Ragsdale was named the Utility Player of the Year.
Kemp second baseman J.R. Frizzell and third baseman Nick Sallings were named to the first-team infield, along with Eustace first baseman Michael Cook.
Also making the first-team infield were Wills Pointís Matt Bradshaw and Kaufmanís Michael Cox.
Coaches named Kempís Leif Skierski, Eustaceís Aaron Coffey and Wills Pointís Jacob Leierleber as the first-team outfielders.
Crandallís Adam Werner was named the first-team designated hitter.
Kempís Brett Kennedy and Eustaceís Jacob Renteri were named as first-team pitchers, joining Wills Pointís Casey Mayfield and Crandallís Bjorklund.
Eustaceís J.D. Oldham was named the first-team catcher.
Eustaceís Lance Cope and Jacob Skoda were named to the second-team infield, and Kempís Mikie Scruggs was named as one of three second-team pitchers.

Holes in One
Special to The Monitor
KEMPĖCedar Creek Country Club reported two separate players notched aces on the same hole recently.
May 14, Mike Nelson nailed a hole-in-one on the 160-yard No. 17, using a 6-iron and a Titleist ball.
His shot was witnessed by Terry Butler and Bill Holland.
May 20, Marianna Ziegler nailed an ace on the same hole from 90 yards out, using a 9-iron and a Titleist ball.
David Ziegler, Velda Acevedo and Carlos Acevedo witnessed the shot.

See the Thursday, May 25 printed copy of The Monitor for summer sports camp information.

Upcoming Games

   CC Christian Softball League
Saturday, May 27
7 a.m. Justice
FBC Mabank Sea Donkeys vs FBC Kemp
7 a.m. Tommy Smith
no game
8 a.m. Justice
FBC Mabank Sea Donkeys vs Aley Mustangs
8 a.m. Tommy Smith
St. Jude Saints vs CLC Crushers
9 a.m. Justice
Hillcrest Blue vs St. Jude Saints
9 a.m. Tommy Smith
Legendary Baptist vs Aley Mustangs
10 a.m. Justice
Hillcrest Blue vs A Sinnerís Hope Baptist
10 a.m. Tommy Smith
FBC Eustace Disciples vs FBC-GBC Halos
11 a.m. Justice
Prairieville Armadillos vs CLC Flame Kickers
11 a.m. Tommy Smith
FBC-GBC Halos vs A Sinnerís Hope Baptist
noon Justice
Providence Baptist vs CLC Frogs
noon Tommy Smith
CC Bible Bearers of Light vs CLC Flame Kickers
1 p.m. Justice
Providence Baptist vs Calvary Jesus Freaks
1 p.m. Tommy Smith
CC Church of God vs CLC Frogs
2 p.m. Justice
Calvary Jesus Freaks vs FBC Mabank Puddle Monkeys
2 p.m. Tommy Smith
Hillcrest Red vs CC Church of God
3 p.m. Justice
Grace Extreme Impact vs FBC Mabank Puddle Monkeys
3 p.m. Tommy Smith
Hillcrest Red vs Prairieville Illustrated
4 p.m. Justice
Prairieville Illustrated vs Grace Extreme Impact
First team listed is home team