Sports and Outdoors


Don Legg Yellowjacket Open draws crowd to CCCC
Special to The Monitor
KEMP–The Don Legg Yellowjacket Open drew a full field to the Cedar Creek Country Club Monday.
The tournament, hosted by Kemp High School, is held in memory of longtime Kemp resident Don Legg, who was a much-admired and respected journalist.
A 1923 graduate of Kemp High School, Legg “retired” in 1970 after a lengthy journalism career to take up reporting on Kemp activities for the Tri-County News, which later became The Monitor. He worked for The Monitor until shortly before his death May 28, 2000.
Legg loved covering all aspects of Kemp life, but especially was a Yellowjacket fan – and was buried in his KHS jacket and cap.
Kemp High School Athletic Director Walt Mangan presented the trophies to the winners.
First place in the four-person scramble tournament went to the team of Don Elzner, Troy Tindall, Jim Smith and Bryan Broussard, who posted a score of 55.
Second place team, with a score of 56, was Terry Brown, Wilber Dennis, Ken Green and Dan Bradfield.
Third place team was Buddy Hibbs, Daniel Hibbs, Katie Hibbs and Tyler Underriner, with a score of 56.
Dan Bradfield won the “closest to the pin” prize with a shot on No. 5, while Chip Chambers won “most accurate drive” with his effort on No. 11.
Justin Hastings took the “longest drive” prize with his effort on No. 18.
Other teams and their scores were:
Walt Mangan, Peter Running, Gilbreath and Wood, 59.
Chip Chambers, Pat Clark, Watkin and Rusty Clamon, 60.
Hughes, John Culpepper, Mitzi Culpepper and Justin Hastings, 61.
Tommy McSpedden, Doss, Stevens and Cottell, 62.
Mike Cathey, Keith Foisey, David Maddox and Daiz Maddox, 63.
Brandon Smith, McMullen, Allen Walker, 65.
Chambers, Belts, Renteria and Hickson tied with the group of Carter, Danny Vernor, Randal Forgeson and Chris Harper for last with identical rounds of 66.
Proceeds of the event benefitted the Kemp ISD Athletic Booster Club Scholarship Fund.

Athens rider wins Mabank bull-riding
Monitor Staff Reports
MABANK–Athens rider Bandy Starkes took first place in the 51st annual Mabank Rodeo bull riding competition last weekend.
Starkes notched a score of 83 to edge out second place Jeremiah Wilder of Dawson, who scored 80.
In barrel racing, Mabank’s Codi Baucom took fourth place with a time of 17.514, which was 0.337 seconds behind the winner, Laci Smith of Mullin, who notched a time of 17.177 seconds.
LeeAnn Graham of Latexo took second place with a time of 17.375, while Katy Strange of Kilgore was third with a time of 17.488 seconds.
Jake P. Brown of Hillsboro took the top score in bareback riding with a 74.
Audie Reagan of Haughton, La., won the saddle bronc riding with a score of 76, followed closely by Cody W. Smith of Grandview, who notched a 73.
J.J. Hampton of Stephenville notched one of the best times of the rodeo, when she won the breakaway roping contest with a time of 1.99 seconds.
Lainey Kyle of Groesbeck was second at 2.15, followed by Cari Thompson of Scurry (2.59).
Another excellent time was posted in the team roping event, won by Brad Hamilton and Jim Ryan Bell of Pollock with a time of 4.96 seconds.
The Edinburg duo of Tommy Zuniga and Matt Ramirez took second (5.30), followed by the Corsicana duo of Jack Atkinson and Randy Blackwell (5.43).
Robert Mathis of Mart took the calf roping prize with a time of 8.10 seconds, followed by Chad Dickey of Huntsville, who clocked 8.46 seconds.
Charles Walton of Dallas was third with a time of 8.96 seconds, while E.J. Roberts of Stephenville was fourth with a time of 9.19.
In the Ranch Rodeo competition Thursday night, the Williams Ranch of Terrell won three of the four events – wild cow milking, double mugging and wild horse riding, while the Bar 9 Ranch, also of Terrell, won the feed lot soding event.
Williams Ranch competitors were Mark Piece, Wendell Melton, Ashley Sanders and Chance Shafer.
Bar 9 competitors were Chance Shafer, Jimmy Shafer, Chi Sleby and Glen Mosery.
Also competing were the Who’s Ranch, Hat Creek Rodeo Company, the Lazy S Ranch and the Neighbors Cattle Company.

Upcoming Games

7-on-7 League
June 20 @ Malakoff
6 p.m.
Kaufman vs Mabank
Malakoff vs Eustace
7 p.m.
Kaufman vs Kemp
Eustace vs Mabank
June 27 @ Eustace
6 p.m.
Kemp vs Mabank
Eustace vs Kaufman
7 p.m.
Wills Point vs Malakoff

CC Christian Softball League
Saturday, June 17
7 a.m. Justice
CLC Frogs vs Prairieville Armadillos
7 a.m. Tommy Smith
Legendary Baptist vs A Sinner’s Hope Baptist
8 a.m. Justice
CLC Crushers vs CLC Frogs
8 a.m. Tommy Smith
Prairieville Armadillos vs A Sinner’s Hope Baptist
9 a.m. Justice
Prairieville Illustrated vs CCBible Bearers of Light
9 a.m. Tommy Smith
FBC Mabank Sea Donkeys vs CLC Crushers
10 a.m. Justice
Hillcrest Blue vs CCBible Bearers of Light
10 a.m. Tommy Smith
FBC Mabank Sea Donkeys vs Providence Baptist
11 a.m. Justice
Hillcrest Blue vs FBC Mabank Puddle Monkeys
11 a.m. Tommy Smith
FBC-GBC Halos vs CC Church of God
noon Justice
FBC-GBC Halos vs Grace Extreme Impact
noon Tommy Smith
St. Jude Saints vs FBC Mabank Puddle Monkeys
1 p.m. Justice
St.Jude Saints vs Hillcrest Red
1 p.m. Tommy Smith
Calvary Jesus Freaks vs CLC Flame Kickers
2 p.m. Justice
CLC Flame Kickers vs CC Church of God
2 p.m. Tommy Smith
Hillcrest Red vs FBC Kemp
3 p.m. Justice
FBC Eustace Disciples vs FBC Kemp
3 p.m. Tommy Smith
Calvary Jesus Freaks vs Aley Mustangs
4 p.m. Justice
Aley Mustangs vs FBC Eustace Disciples
First team listed is home team