Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
2 minutes
Read so far

Athens citizens send clear message

Posted in:

‘We are for the Cain Center’

Article Image Alt Text

HENDERSON COUNTY–Athens voters came out with a clear 80-20 vote to continue with the renovations of the Cain Center. In a non-binding referendum, City leaders sought the public’s direction to spend the $5.3 million set aside for the Cain Center or return the money, saving the city tax dollars.
Saturday’s unofficial results show that 80.17 percent of those who cast a ballot are in favor of proceeding. Since the formation of the steering committee headed up by Steve Grant, the proposal has shifted to more community involvement and a bigger buy-in from foundations eager to see the project through to completion. There is much work to be done, but those who voted spoke loud and clear.
Mayor Monte Montgomery ran unopposed as mayor and garnered a substantial amount of votes as 82 percent of those who voted, cast a ballot in his favor even though he had no opposition. Councilwoman Toni Clay returns to her seat on the council in a 485-411 win over opponent Chet Patel.
In Gun Barrel City, Councilwoman Linda Rankin retains her seat with a healthy margin, garnering 152 votes to newcomer Joshua Smith’s 95, but the other two council seats went to challengers. In Place 1, Richard Yaws received 31 votes for 58.49 percent, winning over incumbent Rob Rea, with only 53 voters casting a ballot in that race. Gregory Aiello beat out Keith Butler for Place 3 with 52.82 percent of the vote.
Log Cabin City Mayor Nancy Ruckstaetter ran unopposed. The 2-year term council seats go to Jennifer Williams with 55 votes and David Campos with 44 votes. The 1-year council seats will be filled by Jessica Abbe and John Perkins.
In the City of Malakoff, Mayor Delois Pagitt ran unopposed and received 148 votes. Councilman Tim Trimble received the most votes at 187 and retains his council seat. Kristi Dalrymple came in second with 135 and thus will replace long-time Councilwoman Jeanette King who received 115 votes. Thomas Posey, write-in candidate received 109 and Keith Knighton received 8 votes.
In the City of Seven Points, the council seats will be filled by Gerald Taylor, Kenneth McConnell and Andy Perdue as the top three in the race with 41, 39 and 25 votes respectively.
In the City of Star Harbor Jackie Robinson retains her council seat and will be joined by newcomers Mike Burns and Don Condley.
Athens ISD had three trustee seats available. Place 5 saw Margaret Richardson win over Eric Smith 809-535. Place 6 winner is Chris House with 70 percent of the vote over Kari Wilmeth. Place 7 Trustee Freddy Paul was unopposed and received 1,158 votes.
The Eustace ISD race to fill three positions on their board of trustees drew 11 candidates who campaigned and even held a forum at The Roost in Eustace to get their views across to the public. After over 600 votes cast, Jaime Potter retains his seat for Place 3 with a clear 42.95 percent of the vote. Katie Goodell McCallister won Place 4 easily with 57 percent of the vote and Larry Tiner won Place 7 with almost 45 percent of the vote.
Mabank ISD had three trustee seats available, with Place 1 held by Dr. Darrell Kinnard uncontested and Place 2 held by Jeremy Zmolik uncontested as well. Steven Schiff in Place 3 retained his seat with nearly 68 percent of the vote.


To read more please log in or subscribe to the digital edition