Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

Athens honors athletes at annual banquet

Posted in:
Article Image Alt Text

ATHENS–Athens High School honored their student-athletes for all their accomplishments throughout the 2021-22 school year at their annual athletic banquet May 10 at the Cain Center.
Beginning the year with volleyball, cross country and football all the way through the last pitch of softball and baseball along with track athletes competing, the 2021-22 school year was a return to normal for the Hornets and Lady Hornets.
In girls’ cross country, Elissa Comeaux took home the Hornet award with Kelly Lopez being named MVP. For boys’ cross country, Hardy Swann received the Hornet award with his brother Micah Swann taking home MVP after winning State in 4A back in December.
For the Lady Hornets volleyball team, Phoenix Franklin and Dani Allen were named Co-Hornet award winners with Kanicia Sallie taking home MVP.
Grant Yudizky received the Hornet award for the football team with John Hayes and Ty Arroyo being named Co-MVPs.
In tennis, the girls’ tennis Hornet award went to Lanyah Myles with James Hoffman taking home the Hornet award for boys’ tennis. The girls’ MVP was Alizya Cephus and the boys’ MVP was Sam Briggs. 
In girls’ basketball, Aaniya Minifee took home the Hornet award. Co-MVP honors went to Natori Williams and Janessa Kiser.
For boys’ basketball, Seth Red won the Hornet award. CO-MVP went to Jorien Ray and Jaden Crane.
In boys’ powerlifting, Zach Carranza took home the Hornet award with Cashis Lee-Brown being named the MVP. In girls’ powerlifting, the Hornet award went to Yessica Carreon and Anna Kidd was the MVP. Co-Hornet awards went to Aaliyah Braxton and Madelyn Rummel. Co-MVP honors went to Adie Allbright and Emma Gore.
For the golf teams, Emma Gore was the girls’ Hornet award winner with Connor Wilcoxson taking home the boys’ Hornet award. MVP honors went to Emma Gore and John Hayes.
In baseball, Grant Yudizky won the Hornet award and Trevor Deupree was the MVP. 
In softball, Brooklynn Cook and Lexy Woods were the Co-Hornet award winners. Kayleigh Woods took home the MVP award.
In girls’ track, Kanicia Sallie took home the Hornet award with MVP honors going to Ja’nya Roberts. For boys’ track, Hardy Swann was the Hornet award winner. Co-MVP honors went to Micah Swann and Cashis Lee-Brown.
Trainers, the ones who keep the athletes on the field and the court, were honored May 10 as well. The Hornet award went to Janet Redondo with MVP honors going to Kaydence Walker.
The cheerleaders, who kept the crowd enthusiastic at all times and cheer on the players from the sideline, were also honored for their efforts throughout the whole school year.
In girls’ soccer, Josie Godwin was the Hornet award winner and the MVP honor went to Emily Mahmoud. In boys’ soccer, Co-Hornet honors went to Yahir Castillo and Cesar Martinez. Ty Arroyo and Anthony Ariciaga were named Co-MVPs.
To wrap up the banquet, Athens named their Female and Male Athletes of the Year, who showed hard work, dedication and made the most of their time as a student-athlete through the entire school year. Natori Williams was named the Female Athlete of the Year and Cashis Lee-Brown was named the Male Athlete of the Year.