Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

Henderson County election results

Posted in:
Article Image Alt Text

HENDERSON COUNTY–Of the 54,663 registered voters in Henderson County, 36,197 votes were cast showing a 66.22% voter turnout at the polls. Like other counties in the state, early voting numbers proved to pull the largest amount of voters to the polls. Henderson County saw a total of 29,853 votes attributed to early voting, while just 6,526 votes on election day. 
It is still too early to call the presidency, as votes are still being tallied in key battleground states. Unlike the presidential race, the local races have definite winners.  
City Elections:
In the Athens City Council election, Sytonia Freeman will take place three with 44.20% of the vote defeating Edward McCain. 
The Gun Barrel City election earned Rita Evans place two with 50.10%, incumbent Anne Mullins will remain in her seat defeating Kathi Nailing for place four with 51.44%. Mayor David Skains was unopposed for his seat. 
The City of Log Cabin had three at large council seats up for grabs with Jessica Abbe, Rodney Allen and Larry Sutherland filling those places. 
Mabank City Council also had three places open on the city council with all incumbents being re-elected, Dennis Terry, John Chappell and Tyson Adams. 
Malakoff City Council held an election for three at large positions with Vincent Bailey Jr., Kevin Kilman and Thomas Posey winning the positions. 
The City of Seven Points held an election for two council positions and a Mayor. Incumbent Cheryl Jones was unopposed and Andrew Morrow won a place on the council with 24.73% votes. There were 36.31% undervotes for the Seven Points City Council election. Candidate Skippy Waters won the Mayors seat against sitting Mayor Gerald Taylor with 51.38%. 
The City of Tool held an election for three at large seats, newcomer Mike Dumont won a seat with 15.77%, incumbents Gary Sesito and Summer Harrison will remain on the council with 13.84% and 13.44% of votes, respectively. 
School Board Elections:
Athens ISD will seat Bryan Barker in place two, unseating Alicea Elliot. 
For Kemp ISD, incumbent Charissa Roberts defeated Matt Gross, earning 52.55% of the vote and Carole Williams will take place two on the board. Mabank ISD will have incumbent Erik Tijerina in place four and incumbent Todd Grimes will remain in place five, defeating Bryan Miller with 60.59% of the vote. 
Malakoff ISD will see Peggy L. Dewberry return to the board with 15.85%, Keith Massingill with 13.74% and Bryan Young with 10.33% of the votes. Malakoff ISD had 44.23% undervotes. 
Senator John Cornyn will return for a fourth term, defeating Mary “MJ” Hegar. Terrell native Lance Gooden will also be re-elected for his seat in the U.S. House of Representatives District Five. Republican James “Jim” Wright defeated Democrat Chrysta Castaneda for Railroad Commissioner and State Representative District Four Republican Keith Bell was re-elected, defeating Libertarian K. Nicole Sprabary. State Representative District 10 Republican Jake Elizey won the seat with 80.36% votes, defeating Libertarian Matt Savino. Member State Board of Education, District Nine, incumbent Kevin M. Ellis won the seat against Democrat Brenda Davis.
Unfortunately, we are now in a waiting game for the presidency. It appears, recounts and lawsuits will be developing before the winner of that race is called. 

To read more please log in or subscribe to the digital edition